The Global Sprint Challenge.

Looking at my series on some of the horse racing contests that are held over the Flat season, today I am looking at the Global Sprint Challenge.

The Global Sprint Challenge is a Thoroughbred horse racing series of ten Group 1 events in an international series run across the globe.

The Champion Sprinter trophy is won by the connections of the horse that manages to get over 42 points+ over with the points system during the course of three challenge races.

To win the bonus, a horse needs to win a Global Sprint Challenge race in three countries, which now can include its home country, to be eligible for the $1 million bonus pool.

They do tend to change some races, so there may be more added in the future, and they have changed some of the rules this year.

Britain has three legs of the Challenge, the King’s Stand and Golden Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot in June followed by the Darley July Cup at Newmarket in July.

Global Sprint Challenge 2012
Feb 18
Australia Coolmore Lightning Stakes
Mar 25
Japan Takamatsunomiya Kinen
Mar 31
UAE Dubai Golden Shaheen
May 20
Singapore KrisFlyer Sprint
Royal Ascot
June 19
Britain King’s Stand Stakes
Royal Ascot
June 23
Britain Golden Jubilee Stakes
July 14
Britain Darley July Cup
Sep 30
Japan Sprinters Stakes
Nov 10
Australia Patinack Farm Classic
Sha Tin
Dec 9
Hong Kong HK Sprint

This is quite a long series of races, starting early in February, and going right through to December, and includes some of the biggest races on the planet!

As we are about halfway so far, we will be just in time for the first of our country’s three races – The King’s Stand Stakes at Royal Ascot.


Not Long Till Ascot!

The Jag

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger... Related Racing Tags: , , ,

Please leave a reply to this article

%d bloggers like this: