Arc Winners Since 1980

Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe Winners Since 1980

Prix de L’Arc de TriompheThe Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe is one of the final major Group 1 races of the year and is open to thoroughbreds horses of 3 years and above.

It is a Group 1 flat horse race run at Longchamp in France over 1m 3f 204y (1 1/2 miles) and takes place on the first Sunday in October.

The “Arc” as it’s commonly known is one of the worlds most prestigious, and richest, flat races, and every year world class horses come from all corners of the globe to compete for the title, “Champion of Europe”.

The race is open to thoroughbreds over 3 year olds apart from Geldings.

Fillies and Mares are given a 1½ kg allowance and the winner gets to take home a massive €2,285,600 (£1,928,760) and it’s the 4th richest race in the world behind the Dubai World Cup, the Japan Cup and the Melbourne Cup.

The actual purse for the whole Arc meeting was increased by €865,000 in 2012. The weekend of racing now includes seven races Group 1 races and four Group 2 races.

It also features the Arabian World Cup, the world’s richest race for purebred Arabian horses.

Read this article to find out how to narrow down a Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe winner using statistics, history and previous winner form.

Previous winners of the Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe from 1980 onwards

Year Horse Age Jockey Trainer Owner Time
1980 Detroit 3 Pat Eddery Olivier Douieb Robert Sangster 2:28.00
1981 Gold River 4 Gary W. Moore Alec Head Jacques Wertheimer 2:35.20
1982 Akiyda 3 Yves Saint-Martin François Mathet HH Aga Khan IV 2:37.00
1983 All Along 4 Walter Swinburn Patrick Biancone Daniel Wildenstein 2:28.10
1984 Sagace 4 Yves Saint-Martin Patrick Biancone Daniel Wildenstein 2:39.10
1985 Rainbow Quest [e] 4 Pat Eddery Jeremy Tree Khalid Abdullah 2:29.50
1986 Dancing Brave 3 Pat Eddery Guy Harwood Khalid Abdullah 2:27.70
1987 Trempolino 3 Pat Eddery André Fabre Moussac / McNall 2:26.30
1988 Tony Bin 5 John Reid Luigi Camici Veronica del Bono Gaucci 2:37.30
1989 Carroll House 4 Michael Kinane Michael Jarvis Antonio Balzarini 2:30.80
1990 Saumarez 3 Gérald Mossé Nicolas Clément McNall / Gretzky 2:29.80
1991 Suave Dancer 3 Cash Asmussen John Hammond Henri Chalhoub 2:31.40
1992 Subotica 4 Thierry Jarnet André Fabre Olivier Lecerf 2:39.00
1993 Urban Sea 4 Eric Saint-Martin Jean Lesbordes David Tsui 2:37.90
1994 Carnegie 3 Thierry Jarnet André Fabre Sheikh Mohammed 2:31.10
1995 Lammtarra 3 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Saeed bin M. Al Maktoum 2:31.80
1996 Helissio 3 Olivier Peslier Elie Lellouche Enrique Sarasola 2:29.90
1997 Peintre Celebre 3 Olivier Peslier André Fabre Daniel Wildenstein 2:24.60
1998 Sagamix 3 Olivier Peslier André Fabre Jean-Luc Lagardère 2:34.50
1999 Montjeu 3 Michael Kinane John Hammond Michael Tabor 2:38.50
2000 Sinndar 3 Johnny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 2:25.80
2001 Sakhee 4 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 2:36.10
2002 Marienbard 5 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 2:26.70
2003 Dalakhani 3 Christophe Soumillon Alain de Royer-Dupré HH Aga Khan IV 2:32.30
2004 Bago 3 Thierry Gillet Jonathan Pease Niarchos Family 2:25.00
2005 Hurricane Run 3 Kieren Fallon André Fabre Michael Tabor 2:27.40
2006 Rail Link 3 Stéphane Pasquier André Fabre Khalid Abdullah 2:26.30
2007 Dylan Thomas 4 Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Magnier / Tabor 2:28.50
2008 Zarkava 3 Christophe Soumillon Alain de Royer-Dupré HH Aga Khan IV 2:28.80
2009 Sea the Stars 3 Michael Kinane John Oxx Christopher Tsui 2:26.30
2010 Workforce 3 Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Khalid Abdullah 2:35.30
2011 Danedream 3 Andrasch Starke Peter Schiergen Burg Eberstein / Yoshida 2:24.49
2012 Solemia 4 Olivier Peslier Carlos Laffon-Parias Wertheimer et Frère 2:37:68
2013 Treve 3 Thierry Jarnet Mme C Head-Maarek HE Sh Joaan Bin Hamad Al Thani 2:32:04

Watch The Latest Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe Races

The 2013 Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe

You can re-live the latest Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe races here, starting with the amazing and unbeaten at the time filly, Treve, who stormed home in the 2013 Arc on October 6th (my birthday) 2013 and beat Orfevre into 2nd place to deny the Japanese star an Arc victory again.

The filly seems to frank my pick a winner for the Arc free betting system by meeting all but 2 of the criteria it lays out for narrowing down a selection.

Obviously it is not foolproof but with French yards winning most of the races, and 3 year olds with previous course and Group 1 victories also holding the key, Treve was in some ways the perfect pick if you were to follow the statistics only.

Claim a free no deposit £10 bet from BetFred!

The 2012 Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe

You can watch the 2012 Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe here which was won by the outsider Solemia at a massive starting price of 33/1.

He stole the race on the line from the Japanese star Orfevre who took the 2nd spot for the second time in 2 years.

Get a free £50 matched bet from Coral!

The 2011 Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe

This Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe was won in record time (2m 24.49s) by a German filly called Danedream.

She beat a quality field of runners, horses with names such as St Nicholas Abbey, Snow Fairy, Workforce, Shareta, So You Think, Treasure Beach, Galikova and Sarafina and became one of the very few German horses to ever have won this race.

The 2010 Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe

The 2010 Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe was won by that years English Derby winner Workforce.

He was the horse who still holds the record time for winning the English Derby having raced it in an amazing course record of 2:31.33 and winning by a massive 7 lengths!

You can see that great Derby race on my page of favourite horse races in recent years. It includes races by Workforce, Frankel, Black Caviar, Excelebration and So You Think.

Later on he went on to complete his 3rd year as a race horse by becoming the Champion of Europe and winning the 2010 Prix de l’Arc d’Triomphe.


1989 – 2010 Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe Victories

This video is a collection of some of the most famous Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe victories before 2010, and shows races from between 1989 and 2010.

%d bloggers like this: