Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners Since 1997

Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners Since 1997

The Cheltenham Gold CupThe Cheltenham Gold Cup is the biggest race of the National Hunt Calendar and probably the most prestigious Chase in the world.

Held in March the race is 3 run over 3 miles 2½ furlongs for horses 5 years old and up and the winner takes home £284,750 of the total £491,850 prize money.

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is a race most jump trainers wish to have a winner win one day and it’s held on the last Friday of the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The whole Cheltenham Festival  is a culmination of a long slog of great Grade 1 races that see us from November through the Winter months and the January Cheltenham Trials into spring as runners compete in Silver and Gold Cups, various Grade 2 Chases and other famous races across the countries National Hunt jump courses throughout the year.

Most trainers of Grade 1 horses either try to aim their runners at the 3 mile Cheltenham Gold Cup or the 2 mile Queen Mother Champion Chase. 

However these aren’t the only top races at the premier jumping festival and the 4 day event includes other great races such as the The Supreme Novices’ Hurdle, The Arkle Challenge Trophy, The Neptune Investment Management Novices’ Hurdle, The RSA Chase, The Ryanair Chase and The World Hurdle.

The races held in 2014 on each day were:

The races in the Cheltenham Horse Racing competition are:


  1. Sky Bet Supreme Novices’ Hurdle
  2. Racing Post Arkle Challenge Trophy Chase
  3. Baylis & Harding Affordable Luxury Handicap Chase
  4. Stan James Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy 
  5. OLBG Mares’ Hurdle
  6. Terry Biddlecombe National Hunt Chase
  7. Rewards4Racing Novices’ Handicap Chase


  1. Neptune Investment Management Novices’ Hurdle
  2. RSA Chase
  3. Coral Cup
  4. BetVictor Queen Mother Champion Chase
  5. Glenfarclas Handicap Chase
  6. Fred Winter Juvenile Handicap Hurdle
  7. Weatherbys Champion Bumper


  1. JLT Novices’ Chase
  2. Pertemps Network Final
  3. Ryanair Chase
  4. Byrne Group Plate
  5. Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup Handicap Chase
  6. World Hurdle


  1. JCB Triumph Hurdle
  2. Vincent O’Brien County Handicap Hurdle
  3. Albert Bartlett Novices’ Hurdle
  4. Betfred Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase
  5. CGA Foxhunter Chase Challenge Cup
  6. Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys’ Handicap Hurdle
  7. Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase Challenge Cup

This is a list of Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners since 1997

The last runner to compete in both the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Grand National was 2012 Gold Cup winner Synchronised but unfortunately he fell and had to be put down.

The jumps at Aintree were soon changed after this due to complaints from viewers and activists due to the number of horses falling and the fact that less than half those who started the Grand National actually passed the finish line.

The entire Cheltenham Festival was cancelled in 2001 due to a nasty outbreak of foot-and-mouth disease across the UK. The next three festival meetings were all won by Best Mate, who is the most recent of the four horses to have won the race three or more times including Arkle (1964 – 1966), Cottage Rake (1948 – 1950) and Golden Miller who holds the record of winning the Gold Cup 5 times in a row from 1932 to 1936!

In 2009, the infamous Kauto Star became the first horse to regain the Gold Cup after overcoming  his stalemate and conqueror in 2008, Denman, who had recovered from a heart condition to take his place in the race.

The spokesperson from Timeform, Kieran Packman said of Kauto Star’s performance, “it is the best Gold Cup-winning figure since the Arkle era in the mid-1960s”.

The statistics on the Gold Cup also show some interesting facts including that winners above a price of 10/1 have had a recent decade of defeat with the 2014 winner Lord Windermere at 20/1 becoming the first winner over 10/1 since the 1999 winner See More Business at 16/1.

In fact most of the Gold Cup are usually short-priced favourites with the last 9 winners in the previous 11 winners all being favourites.

With prices ranging from Best Mates third win n a row in 2004 being the most recent odds on favourite at 8/11F to the longest priced favourite Kicking King just the year after in 2005 at 4/1.

Going for the Ante-Post favourite in the past few years has usually seen you right and the last horse to win three on the trot has been Best Mate who won 3 in a from 2002 to 2004.

Therefore whilst sticking purely to the statistics to pick a winner might help you out a bit they are not the be all and end all and course and distance experience in my opinion is just as important as the trip round Aintree’s famously dangerous course in my eyes.

You can view all the recent winners of the Cheltenham Gold Cup here.

Year Winner SP Owner Trainer Jockey Ran
2014 Lord Windermere 20/1 Dr R Lambe D N Russell Barry Geraghty 13
2013 Bobs Worth 11/4F The Not Afraid Partnership Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 9
2012 Synchronised 8/1 J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill AP McCoy 14
2011 Long Run 7/2F Robert Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson Sam Waley-Cohen 13
2010 Imperial Commander 7/1 Our Friends In The North Nigel Twiston-Davies Paddy Brennan 11
2009 Kauto Star 7/4F C Smith Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh 16
2008 Denman 9/4 P Barber & Mrs M Findlay Paul Nicholls Sam Thomas 12
2007 Kauto Star 5/4F C Smith Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh 18
2006 War of Attrition 15/2 Gigginstown House Stud Mouse Morris Conor O’Dwyer 22
2005 Kicking King 4/1F C Clarkson Tom Taaffe Barry Geraghty 15
2004 Best Mate 8/11F J Lewis Henrietta Knight Jim Culloty 10
2003 Best Mate 13/8F J Lewis Henrietta Knight Jim Culloty 15
2002 Best Mate 7/1 J Lewis Henrietta Knight Jim Culloty 18
2001 No race
2000 Looks Like Trouble 9/2 T Collins Noel Chance Richard Johnson 12
1999 See More Business 16/1 P Barber & J Keighley Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald 12
1998 Cool Dawn 25/1 Miss D Harding Robert Alner Andrew Thornton 17
1997 Mr Mulligan 20/1 M & G Worcester Noel Chance AP McCoy 14


%d bloggers like this: