The Epsom Derby Winners Since 2000

The Epsom Derby Winners Since 2000

The Epsom Derby is one of the richest races in Europe and has a prize fund for the winner currently standing at £850,650.00 for the winner, but always rising year by year.
The Derby is always visited by the Queen who lands her helicopter so the plebs can wave and throw Stella cans at the sky before she sits up high in her private box with a perfect view of the course.

However, don't worry if you don't have the £50 entrance fee to go into the stands. Blaggers will be hustling you all the way up Epsom Hill trying to get you to buy a dodgy ticket. However, as the land within the circuit of the course is actually free land there is no charge for being on it.

Therefore you can enter with your own alcohol, food, and whatever else to make the day more like a festival along with the other quarter million people on the free land which has allowed the common man to go to one of the greatest races in the world for free for hundreds of years. 
It can be a very good and cheap day out if you know what to do:
  1. Put your bets on before coming out online, taking advantage of all the betting offers that are available across the online betting websites.
  2. Remember to write all the bets you place down on a bit of paper so that you know what they were. As getting a good phone signal can be really hard within the inside of the racing track, where fairground rides swing drunk girls around and people watch the races with headphones on their phones for sound on the big screens littered about the place. 
  3. And don't forget all the time you will be saving from not having to queue up at bookie stands where the likelihood of getting fake notes if you win are the best odds in the place. Even the hot dog van girls will admit the bookies do this as they check every note you give them with a microscopic eye in the hope you don't pass one off to them for a stale roll with a lookalike sausage in the middle.
So if you blag your way into sharing a cab with some posh girls from London at the train station up the hill, and ignore all the scammers selling fake tickets to the Grandstand, then you can have a good cheap time out at the Epsom Derby, watching the Queen arrive in her helicopter and then always leave before the last race. 
If you are looking for tips on narrowing down an Epsom Derby winner then read this article of mine as it might help.

The Derby is the king race of the Triple Crown, placed between the 1,000 and 2,000 Guineas and a day before the Oaks, with the St. Leger at the end of the UK Flat season, it lies just before Royal Ascot when we are starting to know which 2yr olds have turned into major 3yr old players. 
In 2021 there was a total prize pot worth £1.125m was up for grabs a massive increase from last year’s pandemic-affected £500,000 fund. It’s the second richest race in Great Britain in 2021 after the QIPCO Champion Stakes which boasts a £1.2m purse. The winner of the Epsom Derby got a cool £637,988 for connections, and in 2022 it will be £850,650.00.

Whereas in days of yore many trainers attempted the Triple Crown the last to go for it was Camelot in 2012 who won the 2,000 Guineas and the Derby but did not have the stamina to win the St. Leger, coming 2nd

In fact, the lacklustre excitement of winning a triple crown has now been replaced by a Derby winning horse either going for the British or Irish Champions Day or attempting both the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe and then the Breeders Cup over the pond in the USA.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Dist. Time
2023 Auguste Rodin Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien Magnier / Tabor / Smith ½ 2:33.88
2022 Desert Crown R Kingscote Sir Michale Stoute Saeed Suhail 2:36.38
2021 Adayar A Kirby Charlie Appleby Godolphin 4 ½ 2:36.85
2020 Serpentine E J McNamara Aidan O'Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor 5 ½ 2:34:43
2019 Anthony Van Dyck J A Heffernan Aidan O'Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor ½ 2:33.38
2018 Masar William Buick Charlie Appleby Godolphin 2:34.93
2017 Wings of Eagles Padraig Beggy Aidan O'Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor ¾ 2:33.02
2016 Harzand Pat Smullen Dermot Weld HH Aga Khan IV 2:40.09
2015 Golden Horn Frankie Dettori John Gosden Anthony Oppenheimer 2:32.32
2014 Australia Joseph O'Brien Aidan O'Brien Smith, Magnier, Tabor, Khing 2:33.63
2013 Ruler Of The World Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien Magnier / Tabor / Smith 2:39.06
2012 Camelot Joseph O'Brien Aidan O'Brien Smith / Magnier / Tabor / 5 2:33.90
2011 Pour Moi Mickael Barzalona André Fabre Magnier / Tabor / Smith hd 2:34.54
2010 Workforce Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Khalid Abdullah 7 2:31.33
2009 Sea the Stars Michael Kinane John Oxx Christopher Tsui 2:36.74
2008 New Approach Kevin Manning Jim Bolger Princess Haya of Jordan ½ 2:36.50
2007 Authorized Frankie Dettori P Chapple-Hyam Homaizi / Sagar 05 5 2:34.77
2006 Sir Percy Martin Dwyer M Tregoning Anthony Pakenham 00.0625 shd 2:35.23
2005 Motivator Johnny Murtagh Michael Bell Royal Ascot Racing Club 5 2:35.69
2004 North Light Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Ballymacoll Stud 01.5 2:33.72
2003 Kris Kin Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail 1 153.35 2:33.35
2002 High Chaparral Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien Magnier / Tabor 2 2:39.45
2001 Galileo Michael Kinane Aidan O'Brien Magnier / Tabor 2:33.27
2000 Sinndar Johnny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 1 2:36.75

If you want some tips on narrowing down a Derby winner then check out my Derby system as may help you out.

No comments:

Post a Comment